Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Jun 16, 2020

In this episode of Teach Me How To Vegan we share how we went vegan overnight and give tips on how you can too. We discuss five main things to consider when planning your overnight journey including:

  1. How to read food labels
  2. What meals & snacks you currently eat are accidentally vegan?
  3. What meals & snacks you like can be easily veganized?
  4. Veganize your top five go-to meals
  5. What nutrients to keep on your radar

After listening to this episode you will feel more confident in your ability to determine what foods are and aren’t vegan, how to ensure you are getting adequate nutrition on a plant-based diet, and how to do your own meal planning.

Recipes Mentioned:

Pancake Recipe: https://apnm.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Pancakes-Recipe.pdf

Pizza Dough Recipe: https://www.sugardishme.com/10-minute-pizza-dough/

 Food Products Mentioned:

Morningstar Italian Sausage: https://www.morningstarfarms.com/en_US/products/meal-starters/msf-meal-starter-flavored-italian-sausage.html

Breaded Turkey Cutlets: https://www.gardein.com/chickn-and-turky/classics/turky-cutlet

Benevolent Bacon: https://www.sweetearthfoods.com/our-products/hickory-sage-benevolent-bacon

Pizza Head in St Louis: https://www.pizzahead.com

Egg Replacer Product: https://www.swansonvitamins.com/ener-g-foods-egg-replacer-16-oz-box

Nutritional Yeast: https://www.iherb.com/pr/KAL-Nutritional-Yeast-Flakes-Unsweetened-12-oz-340-g/70120

Resources Mentioned:

APNM’s New Mexico Vegan Dining Guide: https://apnm.org/eatvegannm

Happy Cow: https://www.happycow.net

Nutritionfacts.org: https://nutritionfacts.org 

Additional Resources:

List of animal derived ingredients (for those who want to go deeper): https://www.peta.org/living/food/animal-ingredients-list/

PETA’s Top 25 Accidentally Vegan Foods: https://www.peta.org/living/food/top-accidentally-vegan-foods/

Building a Healthy Vegan Grocery List: https://www.ilovevegan.com/resources/building-a-healthy-vegan-grocery-list/

Vegan Fast Food Guide: https://www.peta.org/living/food/chain-restaurants/

How To Make Anything Vegan: https://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-food/how-to-veganize-your-favorite-familiar-dishes/

Nutrition Guide for New Vegans: https://veganoutreach.org/plant-based-nutrition/